Maddeelicious

All humanity passes through the family so keep them well fed!

Garlic Potato Wedges

on September 10, 2013

Greetings everyone! πŸ™‚

Hope you all had a lovely weekend! Our priest was gone for the week showing some Polish friends of his around VA, so we asked our substitute priest over for breakfast on Sunday and my 4 brothers (each) had a lacrosse game so we spent several hours watching them. Then we ended the day with homemade Chinese food and White Collar. Have any of you seen White Collar? It’s a really good TV show that we have just gotten into!

So, tonight we had these delicious
French fries! What’s really interesting about this recipe (I think) is that you mix all the seasoning together with the vegetable oil. Also it calls for mixing cornstarch in with the oil and seasonings as well. All the other recipes for fries that I have, tell you to brush the potatoes with oil and then sprinkle the seasoning over them but they never are coated all the way, never truly crispy or just…. boring sometimes….

But this recipe really hits the spot! I remember the first time I made them- I was doing school and I had earlier found this recipe on Pinterest. Well, whenever that happens I have a hard time focusing on school because I want to try whatever new recipe I found, so I took a break and whipped these up as a mid afternoon snack. My whole family kept coming though the kitchen saying “What smells so good?!”. Needless to say, the whole tray was gone as soon as they were done! πŸ˜‰

(My little sister walked through the kitchen tonight while they were cooking and saw them in the oven and yelled “We’re having those?!! I love those!!!) πŸ˜‰

Garlicky Potato Wedges
http://foodraf.com/potato-wedges/

Ingredients

5-6 medium potatoes (1lb)
1/2 tsp Dried Oregano
1-2 Tbs cornstarch
5 garlic cloves chopped
1 tsp Red chili powder/Cayenne pepper*
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp black pepper
3 Tbs Veggie/olive oil
Salt to taste

Directions

1) Preheat your oven to 450.** Combine all the ingredients, except the potatoes, in a large mixing bowl.

2) Cut your potatoes into wedges. Dump them into the bowl with the oil/seasoning mix. Stir until the wedges are coated.

3) Spread them on a greased cookie sheet. Bake for 30-45*** minutes. Sprinkle with salt and serve with ketchup! Enjoy!!

Notes
* Unless you know you can handle the heat, I would suggest using the chili powder and just a light sprinkle of the cayenne for a little kick.

** The blog where I had originally gotten the recipe and directions is not working for me, so that’s the temperature I cooked mine at.

*** As I said above , the blog i got the recipe from wasn’t working, so this is how long I cooked mine. But since I was cooking for 10 people, there were more potatoes to cook so mine were in the oven for an hour…. πŸ™‚

20130910-181009.jpg

Leave a Reply

