Maddeelicious

All humanity passes through the family so keep them well fed!

Balsamic French Dip sandwiches a.k.a Special sandwiches

on October 11, 2013

So I have no idea when we started calling French Dip sandwiches “Special Sandwiches” but let me just say- this recipe deserves that title! We used to make French Dip sandwiches with a packet of au jus, Italian seasoning, and beef broth and it always tasted good but this knocks it out of the park.

One Saturday morning I was trying to find something to put in the crock pot so we would have dinner when we got back from Mass. I realized that I had a rump roast and rolls but no packet of au jus. So I did what I always do in a food emergency- turn to Dr. Pinterest. I found this recipe and checked all the ingredients and they were items that we always have in our pantry. What luck! So I threw it all in the crockpot and couldn’t wait for dinner to come.

We got back from Mass and the house smelled amazing. The boys could barely restrain themselves from picking the meat up with their fingers and eating it. We served it on rolls with a little mayonnaise and there were no leftovers! So I guess it was a hit! šŸ˜‰ What’s really weird is that I don’t really like meat but this is one of my favorite meals now. Anyway enough about me, let’s get on to the recipe! šŸ™‚

If you try it let me know what you think! šŸ™‚

20131022-161419.jpg

Special Sandwiches

Ingredients

1 (4 pound) Boneless rump roast
1 cup beef broth
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1 Tbs Worcestershire sauce
1 Tbs soy sauce
1 Tbs honey
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (adjust to your prefernece)
4 cloves chopped garlic

Directions

1) Lay the Rump Roast on the bottom of the crock pot.
2) Combine all other ingredietns in a bowl. Pour over rump roast and put the lid on.
3) If on low cook 6-8 hours and if on high cook 3-4 hours.
4) When done it should pull apart fairly easily. Then with 2 forks pull off as much as the fat as you can and discard.
5) Serve on rolls with some mayonnaise and a little bowl with the some of the extra sauce for dipping.

Leave a Reply

