Maddeelicious

All humanity passes through the family so keep them well fed!

Pumpkin Bars with Cream Cheese frosting

on October 29, 2013

Hi everybody!

I am so glad that it’s turning into Fall! Cozy sweaters, cups of Coffee/Cocoa, and snuggling under the blankets. Oh, and all things pumpkin flavored! 😉

Let me just start by saying that I found this recipe because I was looking for something to use up a tub of homemade cream cheese frosting. Serveral days prior I had made cinnamon rolls. (Come back on Friday for that recipe!) And I also made The Best Cream cheese frosting. But I made a little mistake… I added a whole teaspoon of salt instead of an eighth of a teaspoon. So long story short, I ended up making 8 batches of frosting to balance out the salt! 😛 But having too much frosting on your hands isn’t really a bad thing, right? 😉

So to use up the frosting, I thought, what goes better with cream cheese frosting than pumpkin? One of the things that I love about this recipe is that you put it in a jelly roll pan. I like doing that because it helps make the cake go farther and the frosting to cake ratio is a little more even. 😉 I feel like any time you mix pumpkin with a cake mix you come out with the most moist and deliciously flavored masterpiece! Which is everything I want in a cake!

20131029-114243.jpg

Pumpkin Bars With Cream Cheese Frosting
From http://selfreliancebyjamie.blogspot.com/2011/11/most-amazing-pumpkin-bar-recipe.html

Ingredients

2 cups Flour
2 cups sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2 cups pure pumpkin puree
4 beaten eggs
3/4 cup melted butter

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 350 and grease and flour a 15×10″ pan.
2) Combine dry ingredients. Add wet ingredients and mix well.
3) Bake for 25-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Cool completely and then frost.
4) Serve with a glass of milk and watch it all disappear! 🙂

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients
4 Tbs. Softened butter
3 ounces cream cheese*
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/8 tsp salt

DIrections

1) Beat butter and cream cheese with mixer until combined.
2) Slowly add in the powdered sugar. Mix in the vanilla and salt.

(If too thick for your liking add a little milk until it is the consistency you like.)

*I don’t mind a little extra cream cheese so I just do 4 ounces to make it easy. 🙂


One response to “Pumpkin Bars with Cream Cheese frosting

  1. […] Pumpkin Bars with Cream Cheese frosting Oct […]

Leave a comment