Maddeelicious

All humanity passes through the family so keep them well fed!

Summertime Corn Dogs

on March 20, 2014

20140320-135445.jpg

Is anybody else ready for summer? I am so ready! Warm weather, sunny days, barbecues, watermelon, swimming, and no school! Talking about school- I’ll actually be done before Easter so that’s part of the reason I’m so excited for summer is because it’s coming early!! 😀 I can’t get the chorus part of Mungo Jerry’s song “In the Summertime” out of my head!

Anyway… Summer always makes me think about grilling out hotdogs and hamburgers so then that thought led me to corn dogs! Who doesn’t love a good corn dog? We usually just get a box of the pre made ones at SAMs but I’ve been wanting to try and make our own. Well, let me just say that I have a feeling these will be a once a week thing in the summer time for us! 😉

Surprisingly they’re easier to make than I ever thought! This recipe makes almost 2 times more than it says it should so if you really only want 10 corn dogs I would cut the batch in half or do what I did and make 20 dogs and then some bite sized ones! 🙂

20140320-135733.jpg

Summertime Corn Dogs

Homemade Corn Dogs

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups yellow cornmeal
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup sugar
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 egg, beaten
1 1/2 cups buttermilk (regular milk works too)
1 Tablespoon vegetable oil
1 Tablespoon honey
1 (10 count)* package Hot Dogs
10 wooden skewers or chopsticks

2 Quarts Vegetable Oil, for frying

Directions

1) In a medium or large pot, add the oil. Turn heat to medium and heat oil to 350 degrees F.

2) In a large bowl, add the cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Stir together. Then add the beaten egg, buttermilk, oil and honey. Stir until combined. (Batter should be a little thicker than pancake batter)

3) Remove hot dogs from package. Wipe them all dry with a paper towel (this will help the batter stick to them better) Insert one skewer or wooden stick into each hot dog.

4) Pour the batter into a tall drinking glass. Holding by the skewer, take one hot dog and dunk it into the batter, coating all of the hot dog. Slowly remove from batter and let a little excess batter drip back into the cup. Immediately place it into the hot oil, while still holding the stick. Turn as necessary to brown all sides. Cook for 2-3 minutes, or until all sides are a deep golden brown. Remove from hot oil and place on paper towels to drain grease. Repeat with all hot dogs.

5) If there is leftover batter I cut up a hot dog or two into thin slices and mix it in with the batter. Then I use a cookie scoop to scoop up little balls and plop them in the oil to fry for about a minute on both sides. And there you have bite sized corn dog balls! 🙂

*I found that one batch makes 20 hot dogs with leftover batter.

Here are the corn dog balls!

20140320-135652.jpg


4 responses to “Summertime Corn Dogs

  1. donshomette says:

    These are maddeelicious!

  2. Naomi says:

    These look yummy!

  3. Thank you! I’ll make them for you guys some time! 🙂

Leave a comment