Maddeelicious

All humanity passes through the family so keep them well fed!

Bonjour!

on September 26, 2012

Bonjour everyone!  I haven’t been blogging lately because I have just started school.  As you can tell I am taking French this year! Yay!  So far my school has been going well- I have been able to work my schedule around school and cooking so now I am adding blogging in as well!  My little sister has been potty training herself over the last few days.  Seeing her wearing underwear kind of makes me sad!  She’s growing up too fast!  Yesterday I switched over all the girls to warmer clothes.  I’m SO happy we are getting into colder weather!  When it gets below 32 degrees I am going to go outside and blow bubbles- supposedly they freeze and become ice bubbles!

My latest thing I have been making is sea glass candy!  Boy, are all my siblings (and me!) really happy!  I have tried lemon, peppermint and I just made root beer today!  They all liked the lemon and the root beer and thought the peppermint was okay.  I want to make coffee flavored next for Dad and I!  When we finish all the candy I made so far, I am going to make three batches but leave them clear and put them all in a jar so that they are mystery flavored!

http://www.theidearoom.net/2011/02/sea-glass-candy.html

Ingredients

  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 3/4 cup corn syrup
  • 1/4 – 1 tsp*. flavoring oil
  • Powdered sugar (to coat cooled candy)

1.  Lightly grease jelly roll pan.

2.  Pour sugar, corn syrup and water in a medium saucepan. Place over medium heat and stir until sugar dissolves.

3.  Without stirring, boil the mixture until a candy thermometer reads between 300 and 310 degrees. (about 20-30 minutes.) Drop a small amount into ice water. If it separates into brittle strands its ready.

5.  Remove from heat and let boiling subside.

6.  Measure flavoring oil and pour into candy mixture. Also add food coloring if desired. Blend with a wooden spoon.  **Be very careful when adding as it will let off strong smell and steam.

7.  Pour onto greased cookie sheet or cake pan. Let cool.

8.  Cover with wax paper* and hit lightly with a hammer to break into smaller pieces.

Take the pieces and coat them lightly with some powdered sugar. Put in a pretty jar and try not to eat them too fast!

*I used 1/2 tsp for the lemon and1 tsp for the root beer and thought that was perfect!

* I didn’t cover it with waxed paper because I didn’t have any but it still worked fine!


One response to “Bonjour!

  1. Dad says:

    Bring on the coffee!!!!

Leave a comment